Blooging on App Engine-Part 2

Well as the previous post says the Blog is up sort of. I solved two fairly tricky issues for me at least which I’ll document here.

As mentioned I’m Using the Bloog example, found here.

I wanted to replace the right most column with my own stuff, replacing the Silicon valley meet up badge and the Avatar in the upper right was pretty simple, just photo shop two images the same size and replace the old ones. Got some hints here on the developer site.

Look in the code (on Ads.html located in C:\Users\DadLaptop\Documents\tombrander\views\default\bloog) and replace the go to links….

I also wanted to put an rss display of my “shared items from Google reader that are tagged as Forensics” That was a bit harder to figure out, I wanted to use Django modules see my plea in the Bloog discussions, but I could not figure how to do that so I eventually found some code in Cpedialog that was doing something similar to what I wanted and found he was using a Google tool “Google Dynamic Feed Control”. I tried to lift his code but it was too integrated with his control panel so I just commented out the “Amazon” section of the ads.htm page and added my own code directly on the page. like so:  I also had to slightly alter the amazon section of the main CSS file to remove one margin so the layout was proper.

<div id=”amazon”>
This is where I plan to put Rss reader and Bookmarks!
<script src=”http://www.google.com/jsapi/&#8221;
type=”text/javascript”></script>
<script src=”http://www.google.com/uds/solutions/dynamicfeed/gfdynamicfeedcontrol.js&#8221;
type=”text/javascript”></script>

<style type=”text/css”>
@import url(“http://www.google.com/uds/solutions/dynamicfeed/gfdynamicfeedcontrol.css&#8221;);

#feedControl {
margin-top : 20px;
margin-left: 0;
margin-right: auto;
width : 220px;
font-size: 12px;
color: #9CADD0;
}
</style>

<script type=”text/javascript”>
function load() {
var feed =”http://feeds2.feedburner.com/SharedForensics&#8221;;
var options = {
numResults : 8}

new GFdynamicFeedControl(feed, “feedControl”, options );
}
google.load(“feeds”, “1”);
google.setOnLoadCallback(load);
</script>

</head>

<body>
<div id=”body”>

Then I was sort of ready to go, but don’t you know I could not figure out how to upload the darn thing.!! I’ll go through that next.

Leave a comment