Getting Started With Google App Engine-Hello World

I’m configuring this all on Vista 64. Well I finally decided to begin the learning process. I elected to use only the “Ordinary” x86 versions and not 64 bit versions. I installed the latest Python, 2.61 which according to the Python site is the continuing line from the required 2.5 for app engine (Python 2.6.1 Windows installer (Windows binary — does not include source), this could cause problems later but so far so good. I ran the Python environment stand alone to ensure that is functioned.

I then followed the tutorial. Downloaded the app engine development environment. I ran the install.  I also created the Helloworld folder in the documents folder and placed the trial Yaml and PY file inside the folder, as the tutorial required.  Then tried to run the executable according to the tutorial. I could not figure out how to do that. I rebooted, always a good idea!

Then noticed that the Google App Engine had placed an Icon on the desktop. Clicking it did not result in anything other than a window that opened and closed too fast to see. Re-reading the getting started info it came clearer to me that I had to follow the format for invoking the App Engine and specifying the location of the helloword folder.  So I opened up notepad++ and created this line, which I the entered into the Vista Search box (which I discovered also now functions as the “Run” box). >>> dev_appserver.py C:\Users\DadLaptop\Documents\Helloworld<<<

Bang, It worked!! Followed the rest of the tutorial to display “Hello World” on Localhost. Now I have to continue for the more advanced functions. Stay tuned!

I saved the command line as a .bat file and believe that I can edit the desktop icon to include the parameter for the location of the hellworld folder.

2 thoughts on “Getting Started With Google App Engine-Hello World

Leave a comment