Got Ganymede RC4 with Birt Running on Win xp sp3

As I thought might be the case my problems seem to have been due to massive user error. The key is that one must start a project before trying to set anything else up, and.. The BIRT package comes with its own version of data explorer that is not the same as the main Eclipse DTP. I sill have not gotten the data tools platform (DTP) working with My Mysql database. I did get a sample report going with MY mysql database. so that is a start. For help on this if you are as confused as I was, and to some extent still am see the screen shots from me and the from the great help from an Actuate master (BIRT developer). see the bug 236647 (in Bugzilla) for some useful info for the total newbie!

So a key that I don’t think is highlighted in Eclipse Docs is that you must have STARTED A PROJECT, before anything else works properly, makes sense since it uses the project workspace to store all environment info…

If any one has an idea how or where one should put the MYSQL driver into the Eclipse environment so that it will work with the DTP I’d appreciate it! Currently I just get the “can’t find it” message even though it is displayed in the Jar file tab…(and I did set up another project to test it)

I’m still drinking through a fire hose trying to learn Eclipse, MYSQL, and JAVA all at once,(along with BIRT and probably a few other items)

Leave a Reply

