Free Wiki/blogging hosts: an overview

I plan to update this but thought I’d go ahead and put this very brief version out for the time being.

Ok, I’ve signed up and set up beginning pages on 5 free Wiki sites in addition to my sites at several blog sites as well as WordPress: What you can see from the links below are the “mother site” (where the software/service comes from) and my very primitive initial set up or modification of the base start up pages.

Please note that I have done minimal work on each of these host platforms as of 6/6/2008 and plan to update and play around with them more as time permits. The first link takes you to the parent site for the provider and the My site link is just that, a barebones site I just created.

Pbwiki My site is here

Metadot My site is here

Deki Wiki/Mindtouch My site is here

Blogger My site is here

Joomla My site is here (this host restricted for “testing purposes only” no way to “upgrade” account, but a very rich environment.

Microsoft Live My site here, I’ve put the most effort in here and it is my Production site. Needs work, and not really a Wiki but totally free hosting.

Each of these tools and hosts has its own strengths and weaknesses which I hope to document as I get the time. Initially I can state that the richness of each environment amazes me. I also Hope to fiddle around a bit with Google app engine but that environment is more “programmer centric” as contrasted with the services above which can generally be handled by end-users…

Leave a Reply

