Installing Ubuntu in Dual boot with Win xp Your mileage may vary!

Well this is a bit out of order… but I decided to try out Ubuntu on my main machine, I currently lack “extra” machines… My main machine is a Dell Optiplex 1.8 ghx intel 1 gb memory and with 200gb on the main disk and a second drive. So I figured I’d Just install Ubuntu on the extra 40 gb disk I had on the system, what windows knows as my F drive.. I tried doing this via the Ubuntu standard iso distribution disk disk. The install appeared to go great and the dual boot screen from Grub came up.. but there it stopped,,, no way that I could figure could make the system load., so, I tried both the straight install and the wubi install, which installs under windows…Same result, I could see the installation but the Grub loader could not get me going… After backing everything back off (remember this is my primary machine!) I gritted my teeth, made sure I had enough space on “c” and tied the “Wubi” install on “C” and shortly I was off and running… would still prefer to get things on the other disk but I’ll have some learning to do to figure that out. I’m sure it should be able to be done but the installation lies.. The installer cannot do it sucessfully. So manual editing must be done, but where? (reader input welcome!)

One other oddity, when I had a power failure on Win Xp (thunderstorm) I decided to use the opportunity to go to Ubuntu… it was a no go on several attempts, got to what was called the busy box, well that did not help me any! I discovered that the condition is caused by Ubuntu not being able to intialize some hardware, don’t know what. but any how, if I booted Win Xp and then shut down normally, with power off Ubuntu started up fine. I guess some hardware state was cleared by Win XP. Hope this helps someone! I posted my issues on Launchpad, with little result but at least the info is there for developers…

Leave a Reply

