Installing Eclipse on Ubuntu, Hardy

Eclipse is a very rich software development platform originated by IBM but now “open source” It also has a very powerful report writer component called Birt. This is a copy of a bug report I filed on Ubuntu Launchpad relating to my install efforts. I do have it running now. I have not checked it out much yet.

Problem #236214 in Ubuntu Launchpad, I followed some of the procedures in the Bug # 158461 named problem here in Launchpad and got much further, I ran eclipse from sudo and then ran numerous update cycles, that got most of the documents and features installed but I could never get a clean finish, that is the installer would refuse to update due to errors, which a user in the 158462 problem has documented, with “patches missing” but nothing I could come up with could find or install the patches.

So I finally tried to download the latest 3.3 (gtk-2.3RC2.tar.gz) all in one Birt package directly from eclipse.., which got to my desktop, I then used the archive extractor, which got it onto the desktop.. I changed the extracted “eclipse ” to allow execution and I’m sort of off! That is: it seems to be running…

Where should I extract the package to? I’d like to get the proper locations…

The key takeaway is the repository at Ubuntu is woefully out of date and incomplete, and plain does not work!! Someone with more skill than I needs to look at it since at least for me and I suspect many others the eclipse toolbox is a great reason to use Ubuntnu. By the way, I did get an install of Eclipse (3.22) up and going much easier on win XP. (but that’s not the direction I wish to go…)

Hope this helps someone!

4 thoughts on “Installing Eclipse on Ubuntu, Hardy

  1. Very similar to my experience, I’ve always thought of eclipse to be self contained with only the Java dependency. By the way Tomcat has some of the same issues.

  2. I run Eclipse from Debian stable, and it works ok. You have to install sun-java5-jdk and set it to default java. You might have to change /etc/eclipse too, so it uses more RAM (or ~/.eclispe/eclipse.ini, use Google). It works with gcj, but it is sooo slow :-/

    I could update most package from my account, so all Eclipse packages was in my $HOME, as it should. Just a few packages needed to be updated as root. Only update those packages as root, and you might get through, at least I did πŸ™‚

    About Tomcat, the “problem” is that Tomcat is installed in two different places (as it should). One for binaries and one for data. Eclipse didn’t understod this. So you have to make some hard links, or make a copy of the data files into your $HOME. But you only need to copy a few files/directories. Rest is in the other places.
    Think that the places is named CATALINA_BASE and CATALINA_HOME in documentation, and is in two different places (default dummy installation places those in same place).
    This is GOOD thing, as you may run many different Tomcat instanses from same installation binary, just by useing a different CATALINA_HOME for each instances configfiles.
    This is from top of my head, might be some errors.

  3. Propper place for your own installation of software for all users on your computer is in /usr/local/* or /opt/*

  4. If you install Tomcat using a package manager, you may have to do some stuff such as privileges for the security policies (which are set to be very strict, as it is “part of the server packages”). You might be more successful installing Tomcat into you home dir instead, avoid all the hassle and be very up-to-date with the latest Tomcat install.
    The Tomcat Eclipse WTP plugin allows configurations to be stored outside of the Tomcat install directory, which I like very much (I even think this should become a standard amongst servlet containers/ application servers).
    If you do want to use the Tomcat downloaded by your package manager in Eclipse, make sure all files are at least go+r (e.g. security policy files; hey! we’re not running a server, right? πŸ˜‰
    Check Deploying Web Applications Outside the Tomcat Install Directory for a very precise description on how to setup a multi user Tomcat install.
    Regards, the [BOFH]

Leave a Reply

